Open Data Day: Wikipedia

IMG-20140927-WA0004

It was quite an honor to be requested to host open data day. My planned event for that week canceled at the last minute. So this request couldn’t have come at a better time. But that morning, the world seemed to be conspiring against me. Well ,apparently when ones is driving, they are not supposed  to leave the hand brake up. This caused my brakes to fail, and i had one of those moments where you see your life flashing before your eyes. Luck must have been on my side , because i saw a parking spot and directed the car to that side and put it in parking. This left me standing in front of my car , filled with smoke and my heart pounding faster that lightening. My husband came to the rescue and the day was saved.

IMG_20140926_154519 IMG_20140926_154554

I rushed off to the venue , where i was the first to arrive . This gave me time to collect myself from the wreck i had become. By the time people started streaming in , i was over my incidence and my face was beaming with a smile. We started by watching a video by Jimmy wales. Which gave a brief description about Wikipedia, Wikimedia, and other matters relating to Wikipedia. After that i gave a brief summary about Wikipedia and was able to interact with the audience to get their opinions about what was said.

I showed the audience how to create accounts,User pages, and how to edit an article. So we then divided ourselves into groups of two. Each group decided on whether to create or expand an existing article. This seemed to be the most interesting part of the event. I was quite impressed how practical editing is more efficient than lecturing people about how to edit. I felt like it was a job well done for me and the audience. We concluded by giving t-shirts to our new Wikipedians.

IMG_20140926_174333 IMG_20140926_174344 IMG_20140926_174407 IMG_20140926_174423

This event is in my top ten events , i loved the energy of the people and the enthusiasm. The event ended with us interacting with each other and exchanging contacts. For a day that started the way it did, this was a good ending.

Leave a Reply

